Class of 2017 Graduation

Posted on July 19, 2017 at 5:20 PM

Over 300 members of the community gathered at the YCHS campus on Saturday, May 27th to witness the graduation of the sixteen members of the Class of 2017 during the 4th Commencement Exercises. Salutatorian Francis Yarofalyango gave the welcoming address followed by the student address given by Valedictorian Natasha Loochaz in which she focused on the importance of learning from mistakes, never giving up, and being willing to seek help from others.

The following student awards were presented during the ceremony:

Rull Mayor’s Award: Natasha Loochaz

Literature Award: Maia Lesarof

Mathematics Award: Natasha Loochaz

Science Award: Natasha Loochaz

Social Studies Award: Natasha Loochaz

English Language Arts Award: Natasha Loochaz

Religion Award: Natasha Loochaz

Bank of Guam IFIT Scholarships: Natasha Loochaz and Francis Yarofalyango

Perfect Attendance Award: Ted Chieg, Shawn Libyan, Rozeanne Ruema

Father Walter Ciszek, S.J. Award: Venessa Lauweiram

Pope Francis Service Award: Shawn Libyan

Living the Mission Award: Rozeanne Ruema

The transition of leadership from the graduation Class of 2017 to the rising senior class of 2018 was performed by Welna Laugeyaro and Zoya-Marie Sigeyog. The Commencement Address was given by Lourdes Robomon, Dean of COM-FSM Yap Campus and the FSM Fisheries and Maritime Institute. Principal Michael Wiencek then gave a final address to the Class of 2017 before the graduates officially received their diplomas.

Congratulations to the following graduates of the Class of 2017:

Sarah Alcantara Elizabeth Biyou

Bryan Bomtam Ted Chieg

John Steven Gilinug Jalani Gootinmutnguy

Welna Laugeyaro Venessa Lauweiram

Caslyn Legaleyetog Maia Lesarof

Shawn Libyan Natasha Loochaz

Blossom Moofal Rozeanne Ruema

Jonathan Tamngin Francis Yarofalyango

See our Facebook Page for more photos of the event.

Categories: None